Review: The Best of Friends by Susan Mallery

Title: The Best of Friends

Author: Susan Mallery

Format: Mass Market Paperback

Narrator: N/A

Published: September 10, 2010

Pages: 352

Summary: In high school, studious Jayne Scott and wild child Rebecca Worden became unlikely best friends—a tie that endured even after Rebecca fled her family to live overseas.

After Jayne’s mother passed away, she became part unpaid assistant, part surrogate daughter to the wealthy Wordens. But now, ten years later, Rebecca is coming home to L.A. to cause havoc for Elizabeth, the mother who all but rejected her. And Jayne finds herself pulled deeper into the Wordens’ complicated family dynamics—especially when Rebecca’s brother, David, returns as well.

David is the man Jayne always wanted and knew she could never have. But when he gravitates toward her in spite of Elizabeth’s protests, her vow to escape the family’s shadow is put to the ultimate test. And as lies are shattered and true feelings exposed, Jayne must decide where loyalty ends, and love begins. (from Goodreads)

Rating: 5/5 stars

Review: This was an incredible stand alone by Susan Mallery.

The writing was clear, concise and easy to understand. There was one minor grammatical error (word missing). Character development was fantastic. Especially with Jayne. I cannot say anymore than that without giving away spoilers.

Okay so as I was reading this book I found myself trying not to laugh out loud (since I was reading this on desk at the library I work at). The back and forth banter between some of the characters is hilarious! I loved every second I spent reading this banter. It was so much fun!

Now, I found myself hating Elizabeth and at times Rebecca. All they could think about were themselves and nobody else. I have to say if they had been living in the current situation (I am talking about this pandemic) they would have realized real quick that you really should not alienate anyone close to you like your because you never know when you might need them. However that is exactly what they did.

I felt that this book ended rather abruptly. I felt that there could be more. It almost seemed like maybe Susan Mallery could have made this into a series and intended to but changed her mind.

Now comes the question of would I recommend this book? You better believe I would! The story is great but the banter between the characters makes this book absolutely amazing!

So go to your local library or favorite bookstore, don your mask and pick up this book today!

Be Kind, Be Healthy, Wear Your Masks Please, Social Distance and Happy Reading!

Leave a comment